PS3 + Fedora Core 7

After tinkering with Yellow Dog Linux and checking the Cell SDK releases I am dumping YDL in favor of Fedora.  The Cell SDK is much more current with the Fedora distro vs. the YDL distro.  The focus of YDL is stability which puts their supported SDK much further behind the Fedora one.  I have already formatted the system so Linux has 10GB and my 80GB PS3 has the rest.  I also created a 1GB boot partition so I can have plenty of room to tinker with custom kernels.  The standard 100MB boot partition is insufficient for any serious kernel tweaking.  The PS3 is applying all the updates after the initial install so I will see if it works after they are done.

Leave a Reply

