Dual SLI

My refurb card showed up and I got it installed. It works great!. I now have dual EVGA 7800GT SLI cards for a screaming frame rate. I wasn’t sure which of the 4 DVI ports to plug my LCD into but after some swapping I got video. Windows told me I had two monitors but after enabling SLI, changing some display properties, and a few reboots I’m all set.

My 3dMark 06 score is 4500. The fastest comparable system scored 5700 and that is with a NVidia GeForce 8800GTX and a dual core from Intel. I don’t need to pay that massive premium for a small speed increase. Once the AMD 64 x2 CPUs come down in price to around $100 I will swap out my 3700+.

Leave a Reply

